King County offers free hazardous waste pickup

King County residents older than 65, disabled or unable to drive can receive free pickup of hazardous waste.

The county has Local Hazardous Waste Management Program to help eligible seniors and disabled residents to safely dispose of hazardous waste in the home or garage.

Contact the Household Hazards Line at 206-296-4692 or 1-888-869-4233 from 9 a.m. – 4:30 pm Monday through Friday, except holidays, for eligibility requirements. Learn more about the program here.

Household hazardous waste includes antifreeze, batteries, fluorescent lights, household cleaners, motor oil, oil-based paints, pesticides and solvents.

The home collection staff does not pick up other special waste, such as electronics, latex paint, medications or tires.

2 responses

  1. Janet Wilkins (MacKenzie)

    I am sending you a “Three Cheers” “Congratulations” response. I am 73 with disabilities which limit my ability to lift boxes and move around heavy things. I am cleaning out my house which soon will be for sale and planning to move to a retirement community. I am SO GRATEFUL that you offer a program that will pick up things from a person’s house. I am going to get all my hazardous waste together and then call your phone number – unless someone answers this email. Thank you, Thank you. I look forward to receiving your services

    1. Thanks for the feedback Janet. Glad to be of service.